Founa and the Flora Protection In Sri Lanka

Established in 1949 the Department of Wildlife Conservation of Sri Lanka has been entrusted with the responsibility of preserving eco system endowed with various plants and animal species which has inherited the country with enormous bio diversity. They are working hard with Department of forest conservation, central environment Authority and Department of coast conservation to protect the nature and environment of Sri Lanka.

Department of National Botanical Gardens is the leading institution in the field of botany in Sri Lanka. Main botanical gardens of the country is at Peradeniya Royal Botanical Gardens started in 1821, Hakgala Botanical Gardens was established in Nuwaraeliya in 1861, Henarathgoda Botanical Gardens in Gampaha at 1876, Forest Medicinal Herbal Botanical Garden at Ganewatte as well as Mirijjawila Dry Zone Botanical Garden Hambantota 2013, Wet zone Botanical Garden, Avissawella have already been open to the public.

Dehiwala Zoological Gardens was started early 1920 s as a private collection in 11 acres. It was officially taken over by the Government on the 1stof July 1936. It was established as an independent public department in 1946 and later administrative and management functions were subjected to National Zoological Gardens act no 41 of 1982. At present the Department of National Zoological Gardens is having three operational units named Dehiwala National Zoo and Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage and Pinnawala Zoo and the Ridiyagama Safari Park is under construction

Share |

001 003 005


FAQ | Site Links| Comments